March DT Project for J&S Hobbies and Crafts, Altered Jewelry Box

March DT Project for J&S Hobbies and Crafts:
Altered Paper Mache Jewelry Box
J&S Hobbies and crafts can be found at:  jshobbiesandcrafts.com, this is also where you can find Shellie Hart-Geigle’s /J&S Hobbies and Crafts blog.
Shellie can be found on YouTube here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCtE21yLTiwW5g_KQbK04jw
On her YouTube channel you will find awesome inspiration for exquisite mini albums and cards to name a few things.  Shellie breaks the tutorials down in easy to follow steps, ensuring you get the most use out of your paper pads.  Go check her out.
You can find Shellie on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/Designs-By-Shellie-555292187919278/?fref=ts
And the J&S Hobbies and Crafts facebook page is here:  https://www.facebook.com/JandSHobbiesandCrafts/?fref=ts
The products I used for my Jewelry Box are as follows:
  Prima: Vintage Emporium: http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=prima-vintage-emporium-12-x-12-paper-pad-collection-copy
Art Glitter Glue:  http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=art-glitter-designer-glue
Art Glitter Glue Metal Tips:  http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=art-glitter-designer-glue-metal-tips
Martha Stewart Laces: http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=martha-stewart-lace-pack-15-yards-whtie
Flat back trim:  By the yard:  http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=pearl-trim-1-yard-of-ivory-flat-back-trim
Prima Flowers: Vintage Emporium #586560: http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=prima-flowers-vintage-emporium-586560
Prima Flowers: Vintage Emporium #586560: http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=prima-flowers-vintage-emporium-586560
Resin Oval Frame: Pearl White: http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=designs-by-shellie-resin-oval-frame-pearl
Wink of Stella: Clear: http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=wink-of-stella-clear-shimmer-with-no-mess
Darice Jewelry Box (Paper Mache): http://jshobbiesandcrafts.com/?product=darice-jewelry-box
Instructions:
I started by painting the edges of the entire box.  While that was drying I measured, cut, distressed and inked all the papers (this paper line is gorgeous). Once the paint was dry, I used a gel matte medium to adhere all the papers.  For something different on the upper right corner of the top, I put a small piece of cardstock down then rolled the corner of the top paper around a paintbrush.  Once the matte medium dried, I began using hot glue and Art Glitter glue to adhere 2 layers of trim around the mirror inside, one layer around the inside of each cubbie, and around the top of the jewelry box.  For the outside corners I finagled the corners to resemble an ascot sort of.  All of the laces are from the Martha Steward package from J&S Hobbies and Crafts.  I then added flat back pearl trim, and flower clusters.  I snipped one end of the Resin Oval Frame (so it would fit) adhered and image from my stash and made a cereal box shim so the frame would sit even on the box.  For finishing touches I added a butterfly inside and outside then coated all flowers and butterflies with several coats of Glitter Clear Wink of Stella.
I hope you like what I have created this month.  Thank you for stopping by to have a look at my project, take care and see you next project.  Teresa
Advertisements